Digital Migration

SADC Region Moving At A Slower Pace Towards Digital Transition

The South African Minister of Communications, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo, has confirmed that only 4 of the 15-member states of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) have fully migrated from analogue to digital terrestrial television (DTT).

SADC countries committed the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) to switch to DTT, but most of these countries are yet to migrate even after missing the June 2015 deadline set by the ITU.

Dlodlo says she is encouraged by the steps taken and the progress made in the region by SADC member states. She also pointed out what a comfort it was to learn that all SADC countries had established a national task force or committee and domestic policy as well as consumer awareness in place.

ITU has called on countries to switch over to free up radio frequency spectrum to allow mobile broadband services.


Share this post

Upcoming Programmes & Activities