Sports Broadcasting

20+ African Countries To Broadcast Tokyo 2020 Paralympics Free-To-Air

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) has announced that more than 20 countries in Africa will cover, on a free-to-air basis, the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics games. The games will be held from 24th August - 5th September 2021.
The IPC confirms that it has waived the broadcast rights fees to the Paralympic Games for the African broadcasters to "maximise exposure" for the competition in Africa. IPC's President, Mr Andrew Parsons, called it "a turning point" for Africa broadcasting.
The IPC confirmed that so far, twenty-four countries in Africa have signed up to the free-to-air coverage. These are: "Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, the Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, and Uganda".
Part of the extensive package offered to broadcasters is also the rights-free airing of the Opening and Closing Ceremonies of the games, plus a 52-minutes daily highlights show of "African-centred content" to be available in English, French and Portuguese.
Andrew Parsons, the IPC chief, further commented that: "Through sport, the IPC wants to normalise and challenge the stigma attached to disability. One of the best ways to achieve this is through people watching the Paralympics and seeing first-hand what persons with disabilities can do. We are confident that we will engage new audiences and make a bigger impact than any previous Paralympics."

Share this post