Broadcast Regulation

Nigeria’s NBC Approves 65 Radio And TV Licences - Reports

Nigeria’s National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has announced that it has issued 65 new broadcasting licences.

The breakdown, according to a statement released by the commission, includes 43 new FM radio licences, one community FM, eight campus FM radio and 13 free-view digital terrestrial TV licences.

The Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) and the Nigeria Police Force were listed among the 43 companies that have been issued radio licences.

Akwa Ibom State University; Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic; Abubakar Tatari Ali Polytechnic, Bauchi; Temple Gate Polytechnic; Ambrose Ali University; Federal Polytechnic Ilaro; Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa and Audi Gusau Polytechnic got the campus FM radio broadcasting licences.

The four-page statement also named other beneficiaries which included the Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Leadership Group and Rhola Vision Engineering Limited, amongst others.

The list of the first group of the Digital Television Broadcasting and FM Radio Licenses was made available to the Daily Sun in Abuja by the NBC’s Assistant Director of Public Affairs, Ekanem Antia.

The commission said that the approval was granted by Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari.

The successful companies, institutions and communities listed have been advised to collect their letters of approval of provisional operating licences from the offices of the Secretary of the Commission.

Credit: This article originated from



Share this post

Upcoming Programmes & Activities