Digital Migration

South Africa: The DoC Initiates Supply Of Subsidised Digital Set-Top Boxes

The South African Department of Communications (The DoC) has started the distribution of government-subsidised digital set-top boxes in the Eastern Cape region of the country.

The Eastern Cape distribution is part of the five million government subsidises set-top boxes that the South Africa government have committed to, to allow for the universal coverage of the digital migration.

The South Africa DTT platform currently has thirteen TV Channels and 18 radio stations, according to some reports from the DOC, which also confirms that the platform does have the capacity to carry additional channels.


Share this post